Thermomix Lamington Muffins :)

The other day “Thermomix in Australia” asked on their Facebook page “What’s on the menu this weekend”.  One of their followers, Krishna Ferguson, answered “Just made Lamington muffins – yummo and easy too”.  The amount of requests that Krishna received for that recipe was amazing…and I admit that I was one of them!  Krishna has also very kindly agreed to letting me share her adapted recipe with you all.  I have to agree with Krishna – this recipe is yummo and easy and to top it off my whole family loves them.

 

THERMOMIX LAMINGTON MUFFINS

Ingredients:

  • 275 g Self-Raising Flour
  • 300 g Caster Sugar (made in TM)
  • 100 g shredded coconut (plus extra for coating)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 250 g butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 185 g milk

Glaze:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 100 g Icing Sugar (made in TM)
  • 2 tablespoons dark cocoa
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons hot water

Optional:

  • Jam

Instructions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 175˚C
  • Place butter into TM bowl and melt for 3 minutes at 60˚C on Speed 3.   Set aside.
  • Place flour, sugar, coconut and baking powder into bowl and mix for 10 seconds on Speed 7.
  • Add melted butter, eggs and milk into mixture and mix for 20 seconds on Speed 5.
  • Spoon into muffin trays lined with patty pans.
  • Bake  for 15-17 minutes or until golden brown.
  • Set aside for five minutes.

While cooling make glaze:

  • Place butter into TM bowl and melt for 2 minutes at 60˚C on Speed 3.
  • Combine the remaining glaze ingredients in TM bowl and mix for 20 seconds on Speed 4 or until smooth.

To finish:

  • Inject jam into the muffins if desired.
  • Dip muffins into chocolate glaze and then roll in shredded coconut.
  • Allow to cool on wire rack.

Enjoy x

Makes approx 24 smaller lamingtons or approx 18 large lamingtons.  This recipe can be made gluten free by using gluten free flour.

Thanks so much Krishna!

PS:  Not sure what is going on but I am having trouble showing off my photo of my lamington muffin.  For those of you who would like to see the finished product, please feel free to check out my photo on my Facebook site:-

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Thermomix-Essentials/138914936156010#!/photo.php?fbid=170557516325085&set=a.157911660923004.26881.138914936156010&theater

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Biscuits and Slices, Customer Comments, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Thermomix Lamington Muffins :)

  1. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

  2. Emma says:

    Oh my!! Can’t wait to try these, thank you!!

  3. Pingback: Thermomix White Chocolate Cookies | Simone's Thermomix Essentials

  4. Maria says:

    just one query in the glaze you melt the butter and then put aside and then you mix the remaining ingredients – what then do you do with the butter?

    thanks!

    • Hello Maria,
      Well I’m glad someone is reading through my recipes!!! The butter in the glaze actually should be set aside; once the butter is melted you simply add the rest of the ingredients to form the glaze. i have now updated the recipe and deleted the words “set aside”.
      Thanks so much for pointing that out 🙂
      Have a great weekend, Simone xx

      • Maria says:

        thanks Simone! made them yesterday and they were so yum – I guessed that was what you did but wanted to be sure incase I missed something 😉 thanks again for sharing the recipe!
        cheers Maria

  5. Rebecca says:

    HI Simone
    Just wanted to say thanks for this recipe. We make it all the time for kids school lunches and I recently made 60+ for my mum to take into work for her birthday. It’s a great website and fast becoming my ‘go to’ site when I need inspiration.
    Thanks again
    Rebecca

    • Oh Rebecca THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! What a lovely comment to read….I really do appreciate you taking the time to do so 🙂 I love this recipe of Krishna’s, such an easy recipe but has lots of WOW factors!! I LOVE that you are finding the website inspirational….as you would have picked up I am definitely not computer/blog savvy but wanted a forum to put hints, tips and recipes up to share with my customers and Thermomix owners everywhere so I am doing a little happy dance knowing you are enjoying the page. I am trying to post more things (where does the time go?!) so keep an eye out! If you ever wish to share a recipe, etc please pop it up! I also have a facebook page, Thermomix Essentials (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thermomix-Essentials/138914936156010) and there are also lots of ideas shared there. Thanks again Rebecca xxx

  6. Janine says:

    My boys and I have just made these for Australia Day. After making and eating several lamingtons in my time, and being quite particular about what constitutes a good lamington, I was excited to see the picture that showed the texture of the inside of the lamington ….it looked promising. This could be the type of lamington that had been eluding me!! Your recipe was so easy to make but the end result was soooo amazing. Thank you I now have my foolproof go-to lamington recipe!!!

    • YIPPEE!!!! Oh thank you Janine for sharing this story with me, I just LOVE stories like this!! So pleased you and your family enjoyed the lamingtons. I hope you all enjoyed a wonderful Australia Day and are continuing to enjoy the long weekend. Happy cooking Janine xx

  7. Tanya says:

    By using GF flour what other extra ingredients do you hve to use to stop it crumbing, …just asking before i start cooking as they sound yummy 🙂

    • Hello Tanya,
      Krishna (the lady whose recipe this is) is gluten free and told me that she just used gluten free flour instead of self raising flour so I am guessing that it should be fine as is. Let me know how you go when you make it.
      Happy cooking, Simone x

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

