Thermomix Food Hints and Tips

Here is Part 2 of my Thermomix Hints and Tips (which you can read about by clicking this link – https://simonesthermomixessentials.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/thermomix-hints-and-tips/)….. these hints and tips are food related which I have picked up along the way with my Thermomix.   As always, I would love your input so feel free to add your own tips 🙂  I hope you find these helpful x

Stock Concentrate
One of the things most consultants will ask you to make in your Thermomix to start you off is the vegetable stock concentrate.  The recipe is in the “basic” section of the Everyday Cookbook and is a great starter recipe for a number of reasons such as:-

  1. it is an easy first recipe;
  2. the stock concentrate is used in a lot of the main meal recipes;
  3. you can mix it up a bit and use any vegetables you wish;
  4. it is a great way to use up vegetables which are past their prime.

The stock concentrate can be used in place of store bought stock cubes; simply use one tablespoon of stock concentrate when the recipe calls for a cube to be used.  It doesn’t matter what flavour the stock cube the recipe calls for, the versatile Thermomix stock concentrate can be used in place of it all!

Stock concentrate can be added to virtually any meal to give it more flavour – I even add a couple of tablespoons to my water when roasting my chicken.

Pizza
For a crustier pizza base, I use one third semolina flour (i.e. 160 g semolina flour and 240 g Bakers’ flour instead of 500 g Baker’s Flour).  I also like to use buttermilk instead of water or milk if I have a lot left over from making butter.

Bread
To make a more “commercial” tasting bread, I add a teaspoon of natural bread improver (please try to make sure that you do get a natural improver, not one that contains nasty additives) and a teaspoon of sugar.

Butter
Making butter in the Thermomix is super easy so just go ahead and try it!  I often get feedback from customers that they think it will be difficult to make butter but once they have made it the once, there is no stopping them.  I often make my own butter just before making a cake as that way I have buttermilk that I can include in the cake (I will replace the milk with buttermilk) and you don’t have to clean the Thermomix bowl after – you just pop your cake ingredients in the bowl and away you go.

Whipping Egg Whites
The most important things to remember to have beautiful fluffy egg whites in the Thermomix every time:-

  • you need a dry and clean Thermomix bowl prior to starting
  • use your Butterfly on Speed 3
  • leave your measuring cup off

These tips from the Thermomix 2010 Foodlovers’ Calendar will also help:

To help egg whites “go” large…pre heat the COMPLETELY clean and dry Thermomix bowl for 30 seconds at 50 degrees and leave the MC OFF.

Place egg whites into the TM bowl without sugar and add 1 tsp cream of tartar.  Beat for no more than 4 minutes on Speed 3.  Stop once stiff peaks are formed. If adding sugar, mill first, then slowly add spoonful by spoonful onto rotating Butterfly until completely incorporated.

Mayonnaise
A great tip from the 2011 Thermomix – The trick to perfect mayonnaise is not to add your oil too fast because the egg yolk can’t absorb it and the mixture will “split”.  If this happens, don’t throw the mixture out.  Set it aside and clean the bowl.  Start again with a couple of egg yolks.  Then, instead of adding oil, add your split mixture and bingo – you’ve made mayonnaise!

Milling
To effectively mill, make sure you have a completely clean and dry bowl.  For spices, the more in the Thermomix bowl the better they will mill.

For a finer grind, a great idea is to include another ingredient to act as a medium such as flour, sugar, rice, nuts or grains (depending on what recipe you are preparing).

Juicing
I love juicing in the Thermomix and often juice the left over fruit from afternoon tea….sometimes they won’t eat all the fruit but they are happy to drink it 🙂  I usually just throw all the fruit in, add a handful of ice, top up with some filtered water and blitz for 1 minute at Speed 10.  For inspiration on fruit combinations, there are lots of juice sites on the web.  However I find that most things work thrown together, especially if you have a sweeter fruit such as apple, strawberries or watermelon included as a base fruit.

I core my apples but leave the skin on, I peel my oranges and remove the seeds prior to using and I peel my fruit such as mango, bananas and pineapple.

Parmesan Cheese
To save time you can grate a whole block of parmesan cheese and place the portion you don’t use in the freezer.  Like breadcrumbs, the grated cheese wont freeze.

Lemon Seeds
Squeeze your lemons on the lid of your Thermomix so the juice goes into the Thermomix bowl but the seeds remain on the lid for easy removal.

Peeling Lemons / Oranges
One of my mum’s tips which she uses when making jam….place a whole lemon / orange in boiling water for a minute or so.  When you remove the lemon the skin is easily removed, including the bitter pith.

Tomatoes
Another one from my mum – to make a dip containing tomatoes less watery, remove the seeds prior to processing.

Nuts
Heat nuts in your Thermomix before turning into a butter to release the natural oils of the nuts.

These little gems are tips I found on the internet which may come in handy….
Goats Cheese
To crumble goat’s cheese without it all sticking together place it in the freezer for 20-30 minutes prior – when you take it out, it will crumble like feta.

Stop Fruit Sinking to the Bottom of Cakes
Dusting raisins with flour keeps them from sinking in cake batter.  Before adding raisins to a batter, simply toss them in a couple of tablespoons of flour until they’re coated.  This technique also works for chocolate chips.

Freezing Fresh Herbs
Chop herbs (in the Thermomix of course!) and then place them in an ice-cube tray with a little chicken broth and freeze.  The cubes will give a flavour lift to vegetable sautés, rice pilafs and soups.

Freeze mint in an ice-cube tray with water to add to iced tea or place in a jug of water.

Hints for Freezing Sorbet
Make your favourite sorbet recipe and place in an empty ice-cream or freezer safe container.  Leave for 3-4 hours in freezer (maximum) and remove.  Break into smaller cubes and return into TM bowl and crush for 1 minute on Speed 10.  Place back in freezer and keep up to four weeks.  By processing for a second time, sorbet remains soft and easy to serve any time.
(Taken from Thermomix Festive 2004 Cooking Class)

Cooking Polenta
Follow measurements from the recipe on the back of the packet and then put all ingredients into the TM bowl and cook on 100 degrees for 12 minutes on Speed 3-4.
(Hint by L Humphris via Thermomix Essentials facebook Wall)

CADA
Add a handful of rolled oats to your CADA recipe, put in a hot oven and you have a granola
(Hint by A Davis via Thermomix Essentials facebook Wall)

Cauliflower Soup
Sprinkle honey cashews on top of your cauliflower soup for a taste sensation!
(Hint by G O’Dea via Thermomix Essentials facebook Wall)

Thickening Soup

You can use a potato instead of cornflour / flour to thicken soup which also adds extra taste.

 
About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Thermomix Tips and Hints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thermomix Food Hints and Tips

  1. Cheryl Sinclair says:

    Thanks Simone. Wonderful tips.

  2. Louise says:

    Wow, these are really useful. I think I’ll print them out and keep them handy!
    Would you happen to know what a Natural Bread Improver would be in Canada?

    Thank you for taking the time to publish these!

    • Ah thanks so very much for your kind words Louise. I love that you think the tips are useful – you’ve made my day! I buy my Natural Bread Improver from a speciality bread shop but if you can’t find any your bread will certainly still taste fantastic without it – I often forget to put it in my bread 🙂 Thanks again xx

  3. Mun Yee says:

    I am a very proud owner of a Thermomix and I have used it everyday except for one since I got it two weeks ago. Thanks for your hints and tips. I am using them to add notes to my recipes in the EDC cookbook. Normally I don’t make any comments but since you actually reply to comments and are so appreciative of them, I have to let you know how useful your hints and tips are. It is wonderful to belong to this world wide community of Thermomix users. Go Thermomix!!!

    • Hee hee, you are so right – I am appreciative of all the comments made 🙂 I really am tickled pink that people are enjoying this site and all the little hints and tips. I’m soooo pleased that they are helping you on your Thermomix journey. How fantastic to read how much use you are getting out of your Thermomix….I bet you soon find that it will be extremely rare for a day to pass without using it 🙂 Yes, it is a fantastic community of Thermomix users out there and we are sure glad you are a member!! Thanks again for taking the time to comment – you know it makes my day!!! 🙂 xx

  4. Pingback: Thermomix blog list – For later | I am Danni

  5. Toni says:

    Hi and thankyou so much for your hints and tips. I am a fairly new thermie owner and love it so much as it does things so fast and on a lot of occasions saved me from running to the shops. Anyway, hoping you can suggest what I could use leftover pulp for? I just made lemonade and I don’t like waste. Thanks in advance!

  6. Amber says:

    Hi, I’ve been llloking at investing in a thermomix but can’t seem to clarify whether or not it can juice? Many write-ups suggest yes, yet state ‘blending’ the fruit & veg not juicing (which removes the fiber). So, does it actually ‘juice’?? Thanks 🙂

    • Hi Amber, what a great query! Thermomix in the UK did a fab write up on juicing not too long ago….I have been frantically trying to find it but of course I can’t lay my hands on it just yet. I will keep looking for you though. In the meantime time I will try to answer your question as best as I can. The Thermomix is able to juice by two different methods. One method is by placing the fruit in the bowl and hitting the turbo button a few times (top speed) and straining out the juice. I use this method when making lemonade for instance. With this method the pulp is left in the bowl which you can use for other things such as fruit leather (roll ups); james etc. The other method for juicing (and the one that I usually follow) is incorporating the fibre in the juice. With this method you simply place your fruit and/or vegetables in the bowl with a handful of ice and blend it all together at top speed. The consistency can be thinned down if necessary by the addition of water. This method also has the advantage of making a lot of juice without necessitating the need for using a lot of fruit / vegetables as well as using the whole of the fruit / veggies. I hope this helps you Amber. I believe the investment of a Thermomix is one of the best things you can do for yourself (and your family!!). I hope you end up with a Thermomix on your kitchen bench in the near future 🙂 x

  7. Amber says:

    Spellcheck… ‘Looking’ not llloking!?

  8. Maria Abbotto says:

    Hi, I have been looking for a recipe for polenta in the thermomix .
    Regards
    Maria

  9. Pingback: Let’s talk about Food | Chaeribonbon's Blog

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

