Donna Hay’s Ultimate One Bowl Chocolate Cake Thermomix Style!

Ever since seeing this recipe from Donna Hay on Not Quite Nigella’s website (http://www.notquitenigella.com/2011/04/12/the-ultimate-easy-one-bowl-chocolate-cake/) I have been wanting to make it.  If it was easy without a Thermomix, imagine how easy it would be with a Thermomix!  And easy it was…as well as delicious.  I’m pleased to report that the whole family loved this one…as did the next door neighbour’s family!

 

 The Ultimate One-Bowl Chocolate Cake

 

125 g butter, chopped
375 g dark chocolate (best quality), chopped
175 g brown sugar
35 g plain flour
30 g milk
120 g almonds
5 eggs
1 tablespoon cocoa, for dusting

Preheat the oven to 160˚C and line a 21-22 cm round baking tin with baking paper. 

Place almonds in Thermomix bowl and mill for 10 seconds on Speed 10.  Set aside.

Without cleaning, place chocolate in the TM bowl and mill for 10 seconds on Speed 8.  Add the butter and melt with chocolate for 3 minutes on Speed 3 at 50˚C.

Once melted, add the sugar, flour, milk and almond meal into the bowl and mix for 10 seconds on speed 3.  With blades still running, add eggs one at a time and mix for a further 5 seconds for each egg.

Pour the mixture into the prepared baking tin and cover with a sheet of foil.  Bake for 60 minutes or until the inside is set and not wobbling.  Remove the foil and cool in the tin.  Dust with cocoa and serve with cream.

Enjoy xx

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Biscuits and Slices, Child Friendly, Desserts, Entertaining, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Donna Hay’s Ultimate One Bowl Chocolate Cake Thermomix Style!

  1. Pingback: The Best Birthday Cake Ever — Opening the Door to Hope|Grief and Loss|Grief Recovery|Grief support|Stepping through Grief|www.esdeer.com

  2. Pingback: Donna Hay’s chocolate cake, thermomix style « ChooTheFat's Thermomix Adventures

  3. Joanne Petito says:

    I made this cake for New Year’s Eve desert. My niece had recommended it to me and when I searched the net for the recipe and found the Thermomix version I was very pleased as I was time poor. It was sensational, and will now be my go to recipe for special occasions. Many thanks Simone

  4. Jenny Renault says:

    Hi Simone..I am a newbie Thermomix owner.but I can cook. I have just made this great cake in the thermo, the wonderful Chocolate smell has filled my kitchen and home.it look good ,but I will have to wait to try it.it took a little longer to cook in my oven 1h&20min. I am sure it’s going to be a favourite cake.thanks for sharing your recipe.I have just found your site. I have only had my Thermomix 14 days and am on the look out for more recipes to cook in it..?
    best wishes I will be back to check out your recipes..Ginger Rogers..

  5. Ginger rogers says:

    I have just found your site yesteday ,and made this cake this afternoon.and enjoyed it after dinner with home made chocolate Ice Cream from Tenina Holder’sThermomix book”For food sake”it was a marrage of wonderful flavors..The cake is moist and a real winner.Thank you very much..

  6. Jenny Renault says:

    I just have to tell you that this is The Best Chocolate Cake…

  7. Elly says:

    Just whipped it into the oven … Have only tasted the spoon so far but think will be a perfect birthday cake for master chocolate ….
    Elly

  8. Pingback: Imagine a tallish woman of nearly thirty flailing | sallycottontail

  9. Treana says:

    Hi Simone- just found your site. Wow looking forward to trying your recipes. Do you think this would work well with Gluten Free Flour?

  10. Baffled says:

    I made this cake last night and before I put it in the oven the batter tasted delicious! I let it cool for 4 hours and then put it in the fridge overnight and today it’s like a brick! Help!

  11. Kristy says:

    Hi Simone,
    I only have a 20cm or 24cm tin. Which one would you suggest to use?
    Making this today for Nannas birthday 🙂
    Thanks,
    Kristy

    • Hi Kristy, apologies for the delay in responding, I am not on the blog all that often! I would probably go for the smaller tin and have a higher cake however at the end of the day I am sure both tin sizes would have worked. I hope Nanna enjoyed her birthday…especially the cake! x

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

