Thermomix Quinoa Brownies

Quinoa Brownies

 115 g dark chocolate
100 g butter
250 g sugar
3 large eggs
10 ml vanilla
180 g quinoa flour (approximately 150 g quinoa milled)
100 g milk
1 cup nuts (e.g. pecans, hazelnuts, walnuts)

Preheat the oven to 180˚C and line a 21-22 cm round baking tin with baking paper. 

Place chocolate and butter into Thermomix bowl and grind for 5 seconds on Speed 9.  Melt the combined chocolate and butter for 6-8 minutes on Soft Speed at 50˚C or until melted.

Add sugar and mix for 5 seconds on Speed 4.  Leave to cool in bowl for 5 minutes.

With blades rotating on Speed 3-4, add eggs through the hole one at a time through hole in lid until combined.

Add vanilla, quinoa flour and milk and combine for 1-2 minutes on Interval Speed.  Watch the mixture through the hole in lid and stop when it looks combined…don’t over mix.

Pour mixture into a slice tin lined with baking paper.  Sprinkle nuts over and press down.  Bake for approximately 20 minutes being careful not to over cook.  Check brownies are ready by using a toothpick poked into the middle of the pan – it should come out with a few crumbs on it.   Cool in the tin for 15 minutes before slicing.

General Tips
This recipe is good for gluten free if you use gluten free chocolate.

Recipe contributed by Jean O’Donnell

Enjoy xx

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Biscuits and Slices, Child Friendly, Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thermomix Quinoa Brownies

  1. Isolde says:

    Looks delicious! A slight typo on the title! It says Quiona instead of Quinoa!
    If you want to mill your own Quinoa, do you know how many seconds and speed?

    • Thanks so much for picking up my typo!! Oooops 🙂 You would think that I would learn not to multi-task but I never do so thanks for helping me out 🙂 You can mill any grains in the Thermomix (including quinoa) for 40 seconds – 1 minute on Speed 9-10). Happy brownie making! Simone x

  2. Oh, these sound wonderful Simone – thank you!!! Hmmm, I wonder if I have enough chocolate to make these tonight… 😀

  3. Nice use of Quinoa! I really like the look of this recipe and hope to find time to try it soon. In the mean time, I’ve added your blog to the list of “Top 50 Thermomix Blogs” on SuperKitchenMachine.com . Cheers 😉

  4. Pippa says:

    Hi there,

    Is there a way of making this with raw cacao instead of chocolate?

    Pippa

  5. Laura says:

    Sounds yummy. Just a little confused – do we cook in round cake tin or slice tin 🙂

  6. Fiona says:

    Am perplexed as to why 150g quinoa becomes 180 g after it is milled???? How bizarre! Does anyone know why??

  7. Angela says:

    Hi Simone, LOVE the idea of this slice. Unfortunately we are a nut-free household. Do you think it would work with a mixture of dried fruits and seeds? TIA 🙂

  8. Tegan says:

    Great use of Quinoa! Looking forward to trying, at least if my kids want something sweet I know there getting some good stuff in there with it! Just wondering, about milling my own Quinoa flour, do I rinse it first, but then it would need to be dry to mill… But if I just mill it straight from packet won’t it have the bitter taste? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hello Tegan,
      Sorry about the delay in responding….I was trying to find out more information for you! I did pop this question up on my Thermomix Essentails facebook site and was told that Quinoa flour is already pre-washed. However another lady told me that organic Quinoa flour does need washing prior to using otherwise it will taste bitter as you thought. I would suggest if you do buy organic Quinoa flour to wash it and allow to dry overnight and then you can mill and/or use easily…hopefully that will do the trick. Don’t soak the grains for too long though as I have been warned they can sprout!!! I would love to know how you go with this.
      Have a great day, Simone x

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

