Thermomix Porridge

My customers sometimes mention that they have tweaked the porridge recipe in the Everyday Cookbook and sometimes ask for alternative recipes so when I came across two porridge recipes in my “in box” over the weekend I knew I had to share them with you!  Let me know how you go or feel free to post your favourite porridge recipe 🙂

TM31 METHODS

To Serve One

40g traditional oats
120g milk
90g water

Place all ingredients into TM bowl. Cook for 7-8 minutes at 100°C on Reverse + Speed 2.

To Serve Three 

120g traditional oats
375g milk
250g water

Place all ingredients into TM bowl. Cook for 9 minutes at 100°C on Reverse + Speed 2.

To Serve Four

160g traditional oats
475g milk
375g water

Place all ingredients into TM bowl. Cook for 11 minutes at 100°C on Reverse + Speed 2.

Recipe contributed by Paula McGowan, Branch Manager VIC


Porridge recipe from “Thermomix Meals”

130g oats
250g milk
200g water

Place all ingredients into TM bowl.  Cook for 8 minutes at 90° on Reverse (no speed given – perhaps try Speed 2 as above?)

 www.thermomixmeals.blogspot.com

Please note that this site is not affiliated with nor have the recipes been tested or approved by Vorwerk Thermomix or Thermomix in Australia and New Zealand. We assume no liability in any capacity, including in terms of ingredient quantities used, success of the recipes, damage to your machine or person. Please always be aware of your own machine’s capabilities and observe the safety instructions in the Thermomix instruction manual at all times.

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Breakfast and Light Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Thermomix Porridge

  1. I have also made with powdered milk as fresh milk is a premium here in our remote community.

  2. Claire says:

    These recipes are not porridge. They are soup! After receiving my thermomix yesterday I was keen to make porridge in it this morning as my girls and I eat it most mornings. I went with the option for 3 people but it felt all wrong while I was making it. In a saucepan it’s a ratio of 1 part oats to 2.5 parts water and what was going into the TMX was far too much liquid. I do concede that the oat slush I pulled out of the TMX has thickened while it’s cooled but it’s still far too runny. So, I went with my gut and put into the TMX the same as what goes into my saucepan – i.e. 1 cup of oats and 2.5 cups of water. I then cooked it for 7 mins, 100 degrees, and reverse + 2. PERFECT! What I pulled out was deliciously creamy and thick (i couldn’t get that in a creaminess in a saucepan – not unless I stood and stirred for 30 mins, which I don’t do). I use the milk to stir through and cool it because I have small kids but you could add another 1/2 cup of milk or so into the TMX for cooking if you want to pull it out at the eating consistancy rather than stirring the milk through later. Anyway, that’s a variation for people who like a thick porridge.

    • Thanks for an alternate recipe Claire….it is amazing all the different ways people like their porridge which is why I popped on some variations. Always go with your gut when playing with the Thermomix….the recipes are their as a guide but can be very much varied to suit you. Another reason why I love my Thermomix 🙂 Hope you are having lots and lots of fun playing with your new best friend in the kitchen! Feel free to share tips and recipes either on this blog or on my Facebook page (Thermomix Essentials). Happy cooking x

    • Brendan says:

      Hi, did you mean 17 minutes instead of 7??? I tried your recipe and the oats hadn’t even started to thicken at 7 minutes.

      • Hi Brendan, the porridge recipes aren’t mine and this is one that I haven’t tested personally. All the recipes for smaller serves though showed cooking times of less than 10 minutes so perhaps just try increasing the cooking time by a minute or two and test it then…sometimes it is amazing how something can go from not ready to perfect in such a short period of time! If you try it, let me know how you go and I will share with everyone 🙂

      • Claire says:

        Hi Brendan,
        No, that first time it was just 7 mins. I’ve refined it further, though, and now I do a 1:2 ratio. (1 cup oats, 2 cups water) and give it 10 mins, 90 degrees, reverse speed 1. Love it!

      • Brendan says:

        Hi again, I’ve been having porridge for breakfast for the last 2 weeks now 🙂 Been slowly refining the recipe and bringing my time down. You probably have the right of it Simone regarding that critical point where it suddenly turns.. I had started off at 17 minutes and down to 14 now and just noticed there were more actual oat pieces that i could discern so I think I’ll keep bringing it further down to leave more texture. My current recipe is:
        450g water
        125g soy milk
        100g oats
        20g saltanas
        1 banana
        14 minutes, 100C, reverse speed 2

        Normally I chuck the banana in as it’s going, sometimes using a frozen one chopped (we freeze bananas when they get overly ripe to use in cooking later)

        I’ve kept my ratio pretty much constant now for each variation of time and size:
        4.5 : 1.25 : 1 ratio of water, milk, oats

        I’m a bit reluctant to slow it down to speed 1 but might try one day =D

      • Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Brendan! Fantastic 🙂 If you don’t mind I’ll pop it in the actual post so people can find it easily? Thanks again x

    • Meegan says:

      Just made your recipe Claire – perfect!!!

  3. Justine Stevensen says:

    Hi Simone. I have had my Thermomix for 4 days and have made your porridge. It worked well for 4 serves. I really appreciate that you have put the recipe for various size servings. This is really helpful. Thanks.

    • Hello Justine,
      How exciting being the proud new owner of a Thermomix!! Isn’t it amazing how endless all the possibilities are?!!
      Thank you for taking the time to comment, I am so pleased that you have found the recipe and information helpful.
      Feel free to join me over at facebook at Thermomix Essentials….we share lots of hints, tips and recipes and I love hearing what everyone is making in their Thermomix!
      Enjoy Justine x

  4. Ali T says:

    Hi Simone, I too am now the excited owner of a Thermomix, having taken ownership only 5 days ago. This is a huge thing for our household as I DO NOT COOK or should say can’t cook very well at all. I am determined better late than never and have been very busy over the last 5 days with many successes. I have followed the recipe from the EDC, and even though the consistency was very different to what I was used to from the stovetop, still loved it. I am very excited to have found your blog and look forward to exploring it more and to join in with the discussions that evolve. Ali

    • Hello Ali, WOW, I’m so excited to read about your Thermomix journey so far…thank you for sharing it with me. Trust me, its just going to get more amazing as time goes on. I love that you have now gone from not cooking well to doing recipes you are loving. Feel free to continue sharing your experiences with us, I love it!!! I also have “Thermomix Essentials” as my facebook page so feel free to join in the discuss there too!! Happy Thermomixing Ali xx

  5. April says:

    I just made the ‘to serve three’ recipe, and it was great! I used coconut cream instead of milk, added a couple of big pinches of LSA & cinnamon, and topped it with honey. My mornings just got a lot easier…

  6. Pingback: Day six | thermomixqueentobe

  7. Jenny says:

    Love this recipe, it works perfectly. I found the Select Woolworths brand oats work so much better than the Uncle Toby’s (not to mention way cheaper). My 6 year old thanks you 🙂

  8. Lars Kvanum says:

    Thanks for this 🙂

    I was actually planning on using the TM for my oatmeal because my hand blender died on me. And I need to blend it for two reasons – 1. I like everything finely chopped and more of a pudding consistency, and 2. I use sourdough and it it’s not blended it’ll make big lumps.

    So…are there any reasons for using reverse other than not crushing all the oats? Does reverse make it easier to not burn oatmeal in the bottom?

    Cheers,

    Lars

    • Hi Lars, my apologies for the delay in getting back to you, I need to change my notifications!! So pleased you are enjoying oatmeal / porridge. Yes, the only reason for the blades being on reverse is not to crush the oats. If you like your oatmeal smoother by all means leave the reverse button off 🙂 Happy cooking x

  9. Toni Gorman says:

    Hi Lars and Simone,
    I’m reluctant to admit it but my Thermomix has been sitting in its box since before Christmas. Anyway its out now and on the bench! Small kitchen so a bit crowded. I made quiche yesterday, great and was googling oats when I found this page.
    Lars I make sourdough bread but can you tell me about your lasts please?
    Toni

    • Hi Toni,
      Its fantastic that you have now got your Thermomix out of its box!! I would highly recommend asking your consultant for some guidance if you feel that you aren’t using your Thermomix enough, your consultant would be more than happy to go through it all with you! Well done on the quiche, there will be many, many more successes to follow I am sure!!
      Hopefully Lars will see this post however you may wish to contact him directly. Happy cooking Toni!!! x

    • Lars Kvanum says:

      Hi Toni,

      I’m not sure I understand your question. You want me to tell you about the last ones I’ve made?

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

