Thermomix “BBQ” Steak

I love this recipe – great for those who think the Thermomix can do everything but BBQ a steak!!!

BBQ Steak

Marinade:
2 cloves of garlic
2 cm fresh ginger
1 small red chili
2 tbsp Hoi Sin sauce
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp rice wine or dry sherry
2 tbsp oyster sauce
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp Parisian essence
2 tsp cornflour

2-4 good quality steaks such as porterhouse or scotch fillet, 3-4 cm thick
Place garlic, ginger and chili into TM bowl and chop for 6 seconds on Speed 9.  Scrape down sides of bowl.  Add all other marinade ingredients and mix for 8-10 seconds on Speed 7.

Place steaks in pan and pour marinade over.  Marinate for one hour, turning if the meat is not covered by the marinade.

Drain and arrange steaks on Varoma tray, allowing space for steam to rise between.

Place 500 ml water into TM bowl or make a sauce in the bowl and cook for 20 minutes at Varoma temperate on Speed 1.

General Tips:

Make a sauce using the leftover marinade with 4-6 mushrooms, 1 onion cut into quarters and 1 cup wine.  Reduce water to make the mixture up to 500 m.

You can add potatoes or rice to the basket and cook with the meat.  If so, use Speed 4 rather than Speed 1.

You can use cheaper cuts as well; blade steak is a good selection.

Recipe from Thermomix Go-Getters Talk:  DJ Baum

Enjoy xx

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Main Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thermomix “BBQ” Steak

  1. Jessica Fabian says:

    Wow! I’m a vego , but thanks for sharing this, I’m sure my boys will love to eat this!!

  2. Olivia says:

    Hi, sounds yummo, I’m a little confused how to make the sauce from left over marinade & reducing water. Could you give me a little more info…..sorry!

    • Hi Olivia,
      Don’t be sorry at all – I have just re-read the recipe and it is confusing as it doesn’t mention that the sauce that can be used to accompany it is the Mushroom Sauce from the EDC Cookbook. I will post the adjusted mushroom sauce recipe to make it a little easier 🙂 Thanks for bringing this to my attention! Have a great weekend, Simone x

  3. ceba says:

    I made this ton\ight in my new Thermo and it was very good – thankyou!

  4. Wendy says:

    Hi Simone, just wondering whether the meat is suppose to go in the Varoma dish, or on the Varoma tray? Thanks!

    • Hello Wendy, thanks for your question. I don’t think in this instance it matters in which tray you place your meat in. I usually place meat in the dish but it just depends on what else I want to place in the Varoma! At the meeting when the consultant cooked this for us she had the meat in both the dish and the tray. I hope you enjoy…this was a lovely surprise dish for me! Simone x

  5. mcgleury says:

    Hello, when making the sauce do you use red or white wine?

  6. mcgleury says:

    Hello again, I’m a bit unsure about how much water to add if you’re making the sauce while cooking the steak? So far I’ve added the sauce which is 150ml plus a cup wine plus 100ml water which makes it up to 500ml. Is that correct?

  7. lillneca says:

    This dish was awesome. My family gave it both thumbs up. Absolutely delish. Thank you xxx

    • Oh I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed it! I must admit this is a dish I may never had made myself if I hadn’t tasted how amazing it was first!!! Thank you for taking the time to let me know xx

      • lillneca says:

        Simone so good that my family has requested, in fact begged for me to make it again tonight lol.
        I used the left over sauce as I doubled it to marinate pork ribs the following night, I cooked the ribs in the oven though – turned out beautiful too.
        Tonight though steak is the order hehe xxx

      • Oh what a fantastic idea marinating your pork ribs in the sauce!!!! Love that you have a dish that you are guaranteed the whole family will enjoy. Thank you for sharing with me! Enjoy xx

  8. Megan says:

    Thank you! What a delicious meal! We cooked potatoes for mash and then made the sauce, but didn’t add mushrooms. So delicious, and my Miss 6 and Miss almost 4 enjoyed the meat – unusual for them!

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

