Thermomix Prawn and Snapper Chowder

We have been very lucky to recently have Jan F join our Thermomix team.  Jan is a passionate foodie and loves sharing her knowledge with others….so much so that she has forwarded me this recipe to share with you all!  I can’t wait to try this one, I’m a big fan of seafood chowder!  I’d love to hear if you give it a go 🙂

Prawn and Snapper Chowder

Ingredients:

1 carrot (medium size)
1 Onion
1 Stick of Celery (you can include a few leaves)
¼   leek
400g  potato (cubed 2cm)
1 clove garlic
30g butter
2 tbl spns stock concentrate/or 2 chicken stock pots /or fish stock (to make 800ml, if using stock concentrate etc add water to make up to 800ml)
1 can sweet corn kernels
300g white fleshed fish (snapper or similar) cut to serving size pieces
300g green prawn flesh
200ml whipping cream
Salt and Pepper to taste
Parsley, chopped to finish.

TM31 Method:

1       Put carrot, onion, celery, leek, garlic and butter into TM bowl speed 7/ 5 seconds.

2       Then cook 3 minutes/100c/speed 1.

3       Add stock/water and potatoes to the TM bowl.  Assemble the seafood in the bottom of the Varoma dish, fish pieces first then prawns on top and put in position.  20 minutes/Varoma temp./Reverse + speed soft.  After 12 – 15 minutes separate and move the fish around you may need to turn them, finish cooking.

4       Put half the fish into the TM bowl, add corn 2 minutes/100C/ speed 5.

5       Add the cream 10 – 15 seconds/speed 4.

6       Pour into the Thermo Server or serving bowl over the rest of the seafood, sprinkle parsley on top. Serve with a crusty bread.

Enjoy xx

Please note that this site is not affiliated with nor have the recipes been tested or approved by Vorwerk Thermomix or Thermomix in Australia and New Zealand. We assume no liability in any capacity, including in terms of ingredient quantities used, success of the recipes, damage to your machine or person. Please always be aware of your own machine’s capabilities and observe the safety instructions in the Thermomix instruction manual at all times.

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thermomix Prawn and Snapper Chowder

  1. goodcooker says:

    This sounds yummy!!! I will definately have to give this a go.

  2. Kim says:

    Hi I made this last night. It was nice but I think the corn and celery/leek was very strong and seemed to overtake the seafood taste. Will not put as much in next time and no corn – it must have been strong corn! But very easy to make. Thanks from a very new thermomix owner and still learning and loving it

    • Hi Kim, so pleased you are loving your Thermomix. Believe it or not, as time goes on you will just love it more!! Thanks for your comment re the soup, it is great for people to read in case they wish to tweak the ingredients slightly before making this very yummy chowder 🙂 Happy cooking, Simone x

  3. Hi there…i made this tonight and it was yum, flavour was great. The only thing i would do different next time is add a little less water to make it thicker. Thanks for sharing

  4. Love your blog I am a proud Thermomix owner from NSW, I would love to see more pictures of your recipes.

    • Love that you are a proud Thermomix owner and so pleased you enjoy the blog. Thanks for the feedback, I would also love to see more pictures of the recipes!!! Unfortunately I am not very technically savvy and very time poor so I often find it easier to post the recipe for everyone to enjoy and have plans of adding photos one day 🙂 I will try to be better and post photos as I go along but no promises!!! Happy cooking, Simone x

  5. Jillian Aylett Brown says:

    Thank you Simone, recently found your blog and loving the recipes! thank you for sharing. Today, I tried the Seafood Chowder and it’s a gorgeous recipe! I do agree with Kim, and will go lighter on the corn next time, just to ensure those lovely seafood flavours remain at the forefront. Very yummy! Jillian (Tas)

    • Jillian Aylett Brown says:

      ps…should have mentioned, yesterday I cooked your recipe – Chicken and Corn Soup – absolutely perfect recipe, beautiful consistency and divine eating~!

      • Oh Jillian that comment has made my day, not just because you enjoyed the dish so much but now I know you have tried two of the recipes from the blog which I LOVE! I am a little (!) behind on this blog (with four young children and working there is never enough hours in the day!!) but you have inspired me to not let it lag and I will try to post a little more frequently!! I hope you keep enjoying the blog and all the recipes and tips along the way! Don’t forget if you have any of your own recipes or tips you would like to share I’d love to include them 🙂 Happy cooking, Simone x

    • Thanks for your comment Jillian. So pleased you enjoyed the Seafood Chowder. It is a lovely dish and so easy to prepare! Thank you for your tip about the corn as well, I will also make a note in the recipe. Simone x

  6. Pingback: Thermomix Varoma Recommended Recipes | Simone's Thermomix Essentials

  7. Taryn says:

    I made this, halved the quantities and made it with a mixed seafood. Went with the tips and lowered the amount of corn. Loved it. A definite winner! Had it for lunch the next day too.

  8. Cherie withers says:

    Hi, just wanted to let you know that this chowder is the meal that sold the thermomix to us, after someone we know cooked it for us in her beloved thermomix.
    It is the loveliest chowder we have come across, and we eat it as our fish meal for the week.
    We halved the corn and reduced the water by 100g as per advise, and added clams and moreton bay bugs. Also, replaced the cream with light evaporated milk. Thick, rich, healthy, seafoody goodness. Yummm! 🙂
    My husband and I are very keen eaters, we have been known to travel for hours, into neighbouring states, whatever we have to do to try different foods, usually ordering chowder if it’s on the menu. Since getting the themomix, we stay home!

    • Oh my gosh Cherie, that is one of the nicest comments I have ever received!! I am absolutely thrilled that one of the recipes posted here on the blog assisted with your decision to purchase a Thermomix!!! I also love that you used to travel for hours to order chowder and can now easily make an amazing chowder at home. Thank you so much for sharing your story Cherie xx

  9. Nicole says:

    Can I use this recipe for a TM5 Thermomix?

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

