Fruit Bread (Thermomix)

This recipe was featured in our team’s January 2013 newsletter and it was a big hit 🙂

fruit bread

 

 

 

Fruit Bread

Ingredients

500g Bakers Flour
2 tsp Dry Yeast (1 sachet)
2 tsp Cinnamon (optional)
1 tsp  Salt
50g Oats
250g Mixed Dried Fruit
30g Honey
30g Olive Oil
500g Lukewarm Water [original recipe but I would perhaps reduce to 300 g water]  

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200C.
  2. Place dried fruit in TM bowl and set dial to closed lid position and turbo twice to desired size. Set aside.
  3. Place all ingredients:- water, yeast, flour, oats,  salt, oil, honey and fruit into TM bowl. Set dial to closed lid position and knead 3 minutes on interval speed.
  4. Scrape into 23cm round/square grease pan or bread pan. Sprinkle top with poppy, sunflower or simply leave plain.
  5. Set aside covered with bread mat in warm place to rise for 30 minutes.
  6. Bake in oven for 40 minutes. (depending on your oven may take longer but do not overcook – should be very moist.
  7. Allow to stand 10 minutes then remove and put onto cooling rack covered with a tea towel until cool.
  8. Slice and spread with homemade butter.

HINTS & TIPS  Instead of mixed fruit use just one fruit such as raisins (to make raisin toast), sultanas or apricots. Slice and store in the freezer so the bread stays moist.  Enjoy!

Please note that this site is not affiliated with nor have the recipes been tested or approved by Vorwerk Thermomix or Thermomix in Australia and New Zealand. We assume no liability in any capacity, including in terms of ingredient quantities used, success of the recipes, damage to your machine or person. Please always be aware of your own machine’s capabilities and observe the safety instructions in the Thermomix instruction manual at all times.

About Simone's Thermomix Essentials

Thermomix is a life changing kitchen appliance and I truly believe everyone should have one on their kitchen bench. This blog is the place that I store all my recipes, newsletters and Thermomix news to share with all those that have a Thermomix, want a Thermomix or just want a bit more Thermomix information. I hope you enjoy this blog which was put here just for YOU!
This entry was posted in Breads, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fruit Bread (Thermomix)

  1. Stacey Benbow says:

    Thank You for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Bread and the Thermomix | vannillarock

  3. Jenny Liebenberg says:

    Should this be 500g or 500mls of water? My mixture is like cake batter, but I’m hoping for a good result.

    • Hello Jenny,
      How did the bread turn out?? I believe the weight for water in mls and grams are equal so hopefully even if the result was wetter than the usual bread mix. I haven’t made this bread as yet but is a recipe from one of our team members who loves this loaf 🙂 I usually do approx 300 g water to 500 g flour. If the results weren’t as you expected let me know and I’ll check with Nola.
      Cheers, Simone x

      • Jenny Liebenberg says:

        Hi Simone
        Unfortunately major flop but I was able to use it in bread and butter pudding. I initially put in 500ml but using the scales I had to add almost the same again to get to 500 grams so I had a very sloppy mixture which I had to cook for about 1 1/2 hours.
        I should have followed my instincts but I will try again.
        Jenny

      • Oh no Jenny though I am so pleased you could save it. Yes, always trust your instincts 🙂 It may pay to just double check your Thermomix scales (i.e. scale pads clean, Thermomix on flat level surface, cord fully extended etc) as 500 g water should be on par with 500 ml of water. However I think I would reduce the water to 300 g. Another member of our team has made a similar fruit bread and this I have tried and it is beautiful – http://www.recipecommunity.com.au/recipes/currant-loaf-fruit-loaf/96131 🙂

  4. Jenny Liebenberg says:

    Hi Simone, my scales were out. I found a large crumb under one foot so it was easy to fix. Thanks for picking up on this.

  5. Kate says:

    Hi Simone, great bread. My dad reckons it’s better than store bought, which of course most Thermomix stuff is! To prove that, I have actually written a book comparing store bought foods to those that you can make in the Thermomix to show how Thermomix meals can be healthier and often cheaper and at least as fast to make, if not faster than using packet mixes. It is available on ibooks, sony and amazon. I would love you to have a read and let me know what you think. https://itunes.apple.com/au/book/fast-healthy-thermomix-advantage/id714781920?mt=11
    https://ebookstore.sony.com/ebook/kate-condon/fast-and-healthy-the-thermomix-advantage/_/R-400000000000001123009
    http://www.amazon.com/Fast-Healthy-Thermomix-Advantage-ebook/dp/B00FKJA6OG/ref=sr_1_61?ie=UTF8&qid=1381903596&sr=8-61&keywords=thermomix
    Regards
    Kate

  6. G’day! I made this today and came out great, true!
    Here’s a photo that will be feature via my blog should you wish to view!
    perfect as is; next time I might add a little more water…thank you!
    Cheers! Joanne
    https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/Rf9yGYztTuEmnO_wd1xUZtnPqiCq8uwaiolq8F1KIwI=w310-h207-p-no

I'd love to hear from you....comments are welcomed :)

